LAGQ: Overture from The Nutcracker (Tchaikovsky)

LAGQ stands for the Los Angeles Guitar Quartet.

My wife and I listen to this quartet quite frequently.

The reason is… well you’ll hear..

I’m sure after listening to their Overture from the Nutcracker, you will become a fan too.

Much of the heavy lifting for a group like this is accomplished by the arranger.

In this case, it’s former member Andrew York. This is a difficult task and many things have to be taken into consideration.

The members of the quartet are John Dearman, William Kanengiser, Scott Tennant and Matthew Greif (who replaced Andrew York).

“The quartet was formed at the Thornton School of Music at USC in 1980 by Anisa Angarola under the oversight of Pepe Romero of the famed The Romeros guitar quartet. Among pieces in their repertoire are the works of quartet member Andrew York. See: His Pacific Coast highway, Quiccan and Bantu are among his more popular compositions for the quartet.” more


Thanks Jay Tolbert for the share!


Do you have a video you want to share? Please let me know..